Academic Schedules & Deadlines

Please refer to the following important key dates and deadlines throughout the year, to ensure you meet NIC's academic deadlines.

If you are studying in the following program areas varying start dates apply, click your program area for details:

You may also refer to past deadlines.

The academic deadlines listed in the chart below apply to students in: Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, Upgrading, Business, Fine Art, DIGITAL Design + Development, Tourism & Hospitality, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Human Services and University Transfer Programs.

2023

Feb 2023

Fri, Feb 10
Last day to register in ABE continuous entry/exit
Wed, Feb 15
Winter exam schedule posted
Mon, Feb 20
Family Day: College Closed
Tue, Feb 21 - Fri, Feb 24
Winter Reading Break

Mar 2023

Fri, Mar 3
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty

Apr 2023

Mon, Apr 3 - Thu, Apr 6
Last week of classes for Winter term
Tue, Apr 4
Timetable posted for the Fall and Winter terms
Fri, Apr 7
Good Friday: College Closed
Mon, Apr 10
Easter Monday: College Closed
Tue, Apr 11 - Fri, Apr 21
Winter final exams
Thu, Apr 27 - Fri, Apr 28
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

May 2023

Mon, May 1
First day of Spring term. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm
Mon, May 1
First day of 7-week Spring intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm
Wed, May 3
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Spring intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm
Fri, May 5
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Spring term; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm
Fri, May 5
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Spring intersession
Mon, May 8
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
Mon, May 8
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term
Wed, May 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for Spring term
Mon, May 15
7-week Spring intersession exam schedule posted
Mon, May 22
Victoria Day: College Closed
Tue, May 23
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
Fri, May 26
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Spring intersession

Jun 2023

Mon, Jun 12 - Fri, Jun 16
Last week of classes for 7-week Spring intersession
Thu, Jun 15
Spring term exam schedule posted
Mon, Jun 19 - Fri, Jun 23
7-week Spring intersession final exams
Wed, Jun 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day
Fri, Jun 23
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Spring term
Thu, Jun 29 - Fri, Jun 30
Reading Break: Spring term

Jul 2023

Mon, Jul 3
College closed in lieu of Canada Day, July 1
Tue, Jul 4
First day of 7-week Summer intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm
Thu, Jul 6
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Summer intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm
Mon, Jul 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Summer intersession
Mon, Jul 17
7-week Summer intersession exam schedule posted
Mon, Jul 24 - Fri, Jul 28
Last week of classes for Spring term
Fri, Jul 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Summer intersession
Mon, Jul 31 - Fri, Aug 11
Spring term final exams

Aug 2023

Mon, Aug 7
BC Day: College Closed
Mon, Aug 14 - Fri, Aug 18
Last week of classes for 7-week Summer intersession
Tue, Aug 15
Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs
Mon, Aug 21 - Fri, Aug 25
7-week Summer intersession final exams
Mon, Aug 28 - Fri, Sep 1
International Student Orientation Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

Sep 2023

Mon, Sep 4
Labour Day (college closed)
Tue, Sep 5
First day of Fall term.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Fall term. 
Tue, Sep 5
Fall classes begin
Mon, Sep 11
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm
Thu, Sep 14
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit

Oct 2023

Sun, Oct 1
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits for fall term
Mon, Oct 9
Thanksgiving Day (college closed)
Mon, Oct 16
Fall exam schedule posted
Fri, Oct 27
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty

Nov 2023

Thu, Nov 9 - Fri, Nov 10
Fall Reading Break
Mon, Nov 13
In Lieu of Remembrance Day

Dec 2023

Fri, Dec 1
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Winter term 
Tue, Dec 5
Last day of classes
Thu, Dec 7 - Tue, Dec 19
Fall final exams
Mon, Dec 25 - Mon, Jan 1
Winter Break (college closed)

2024

Jan 2024

Wed, Jan 3 - Fri, Jan 5
International Student Orientation Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses
Mon, Jan 8
First day of Winter term.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Winter term.
Mon, Jan 8
Winter classes begin
Fri, Jan 12
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm
Wed, Jan 17
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit
Wed, Jan 31
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits for Winter term

Feb 2024

Fri, Feb 9
Last day to register in ABE continuous entry/exit 
Thu, Feb 15
Winter exam schedule posted
Mon, Feb 19
Family Day (college closed) 
Tue, Feb 20 - Fri, Feb 23
Winter Reading Break

Mar 2024

Fri, Mar 1
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty
Fri, Mar 29
Good Friday (college closed)

Apr 2024

Mon, Apr 1
Easter Monday (college closed)
Wed, Apr 3
Timetable posted for the fall and winter terms
Tue, Apr 9
Last day of classes
Thu, Apr 11 - Tue, Apr 23
Winter final exams

May 2024

Wed, May 1 - Fri, May 3
International Student Orientation Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses
Wed, May 1 - Fri, May 3
International student orientation Comox Valley campus
Mon, May 6
First day of Spring Intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm.  
Mon, May 6
First day of Spring term. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm.  
Wed, May 8
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Spring Intersession (May to June Classes); remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm.
Fri, May 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for Spring Intersession (May to June Classes)
Fri, May 10
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Spring term; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm
Mon, May 13
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
Mon, May 13
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term 
Wed, May 15
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for Spring term
Wed, May 15
 Spring Intersession (May to June Classes) exam schedule posted
Mon, May 20
Victoria Day (college closed) 
Tue, May 21
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
Fri, May 31
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for  Spring Intersession (May to June Classes)

Jun 2024

Fri, Jun 14
Spring Term exam schedule posted
Tue, Jun 18
Last Day of classes for  Spring Intersession (May to June Classes)
Thu, Jun 20 - Tue, Jun 25
 Spring Intersession (May to June Classes) final exams
Fri, Jun 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Spring Term

Jul 2024

Tue, Jul 2
First day of Summer Intersession (July to August Classes). Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm.
Wed, Jul 3
Canada Day, college closed in lieu of July 1
Fri, Jul 5
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Summer Intersession (July to August Classes).; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm
Mon, Jul 15
Summer Intersession (July to August Classes) term exam schedule posted
Thu, Jul 18
Last day to register, apply for refund or change from credit to audit for Summer Intersession (July to August Classes).
Fri, Jul 26
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Summer Intersession (July to August Classes)
Wed, Jul 31
Last Day of Classes for Spring Term

Aug 2024

Thu, Aug 1 - Tue, Aug 13
Spring term final exams
Mon, Aug 5
BC Day, college closed
Tue, Aug 13
Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs
Tue, Aug 13
Last Day of Classes for Summer Intersession (July to August Classes)
Thu, Aug 15 - Wed, Aug 21
Summer Intersession (July to August Classes) final exams

Programs with varying start dates and distance courses

North Island College offers a wide range of programs with varying schedules and deadlines. Please ensure that you are following the timelines associated with your program. For more information or guidance, please contact Student Services.

Office Administration (Applied Business Technology)

Office Assistant I certificate, Administrative Assistant Certificate, Computing Accounting Assistant Certificate, Office Management Certificate, Medical Terminology Micro-credential:

  • Students registering from May to September for the Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer terms must pay full fees by 4 pm by the due date of each term (see below).
  • Students registering during the terms must pay full fees at the time of registration.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10% of the course, and is specific to each course section.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 25% of the course and is specific to each course section.

Term Start Dates 2022 - 2023

2022FA - Monday, August 22

2023WI – Monday, January 3

Early Childhood Care & Education Certificate

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday, November 10, 2022.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 9, 2023.
  • Spring Reading Break: refer to course outline
  • All stat holidays apply.

Early Childhood Care & Education Diploma

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday, November 10, 2022.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 9, 2023.
  • Spring Reading Break: refer to course outline
  • All stat holidays apply.

Health & Human Services

Activity Assistant

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Health Care Assistant Certificate

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday, November 10, 2022.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 3, 2023.
  • Winter Reading Break TBA
  • All stat holidays apply.

Practical Nursing Diploma

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 3, 2023.

Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Animal Care Aide Certificate & Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Electronics Technician Core Certificate and Industrial Automation Diploma

SCHEDULE / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission
    letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023. Winter classes start January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Tourism & Hospitality

Hospitality Distance Learning:

  • Full fees are due at the time of registration

Trades & Technical

Aircraft Structures Technician (AME-S)
Aquaculture Technician Certificate
Aquaculture Technician Diploma
Automotive Collision and Refinishing Technician Foundation Harmonized
Automotive Service Technician Foundation Harmonized
Carpentry Foundation Harmonized
Coastal Forest Worker Certificate
Coastal Forest Technology Diploma
Culinary Business Operation Certificate
Culinary Business Operations Diploma
Electrician Foundation Harmonized
Furniture Design and Joinery Certificate
Heavy Mechanical Trades Foundation Certificate
Fabricator-Welder Foundation Harmonized Certificate
Motor Sport and Power Equipment Technician Foundation Certificate
Parts and Warehousing Person Foundation Certificate
Plumbing & Piping Foundation Harmonized
Prep Cook Certificate
Professional Cook (Culinary Arts) 1, 2, 3
Shellfish Aquaculture Technician
Welder Foundation Harmonized

SCHEDULES / DEADLINES 2022 - 2023

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission
    letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of program.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023. Winter classes start January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Apprenticeship Technical Training

Automotive Apprenticeship Harmonized
Cabinetmaker (Joiner) Apprenticeship
Carpentry Apprenticeship Harmonized
Electrician Apprenticeship Harmonized
Heavy Duty Apprenticeship
Plumbing Apprenticeship
Plumber Apprenticeship Harmonized
Welder Apprenticeship Harmonized

  • Full fees are due 60 days prior to the start day of your course.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 28 days prior to start of course.
  • Schedule of training dates can be found at www.tradestrainingbc.ca

Continuous entry/exit distance courses and program (Upgrading)

Continuous entry/exit distance courses (Identified with a ‘C’ as the 3rd letter in the section code eg: CVC1, DLC1)

  • Last day for tuition refunds 10 days from the student start date.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is 60% from student start date.

Withdrawal without academic penalty

Programs that are longer than 13 weeks in length with varying start and end dates will have 60% of the program to withdraw without academic penalty

Programs and Courses with Term-Based Start Dates

The following North Island College programs and courses are guided by the term-based schedule and deadlines.

Upgrading & Special Programs

Adult Basic Education courses, Academic English Language Program

Business

Business Administration certificate, diploma, degrees & post degree diploma.

Fine Art and DIGITAL Design + Development

Fine Arts diploma, DIGITAL Design + Development programs (Web Design diploma, Web and Mobile Application diploma, Communication Design diploma, Advanced Communication Design diploma), Mobile Application Development diploma

Tourism & Hospitality

Tourism & Hospitality Management certificate and diploma

Health & Community Care

Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree and Human Services programs (Education Assistant/Community Support certificates, Human Services diploma, Social Service diploma).

University Studies & Transfer

Associate of Arts and Science degrees, Criminology diploma, Electronics Technician Core Certificate, Industrial Automation Technician Diploma, and University Studies courses