Health & Human Services Faculty

Get to know NIC’s Health & Human Services faculty

Learn from the experts. NIC’s approachable faculty support meaningful learning experiences, research and networking opportunities to inspire your career.

To meet faculty from other areas, visit NIC’s faculty directory.

Paula Avender

Paula Avender

Early Childhood Care

Paula.Avender@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5086 | Location PNT - 205
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9764

Cathy Batho

Cathy Batho

Faculty

Early Childhood Care

Masters in Early Childhood Education (University of British Columbia, 2015)

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
cathy.batho@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5063

Laurie Bird

Laurie Bird

Department Chair

Health Care Assistant

laurie.bird@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8732 | Location SOU - 102

Katrina Connell

Katrina Connell

Katrina.Connell@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8722 | Location SOU - 116

Heidi Deagle

Heidi Deagle

Heidi.Deagle@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4038 | Location PNT - 122

Joanna Fraser

Joanna Fraser

Faculty

Nursing

RN BScN MCE EdD(c)

Subjects: Nursing
joanna.fraser@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4034 | Location PNT - 210

Theresa Gereluk

Theresa Gereluk

Department Chair, Faculty

Early Childhood Care

Masters of Learning and Technology (Royal Roads University, 2013)

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
theresa.gereluk@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8766 | Location SOU - 116

Rachel Goodliffe

Rachel Goodliffe

Faculty

Nursing

Masters in Nursing, Teaching Focus (Athabasca University, 2015)

B.Sc. in Nursing (University of Victoria, 2009)

Subjects: Nursing
rachel.goodliffe@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4246 | Location PNT - 210

RaeAnn Hartman

RaeAnn Hartman

Master of Arts in Leadership and Training (Royal Roads University, 2004).

Bachelor of Science, Nursing (University of Saskatchewan)

Registered Nurse

raeann.hartman@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5066 | Location PNT - 120

Kelly Johnsen

Kelly Johnsen

M.Ed., Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies (University of Victoria)

kelly.johnsen@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8743 | Location SOU - 111

Shelagh Kantor

Shelagh Kantor

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University, 2009)
Registered Nurse

 

Subjects: Nursing
shelagh.kantor@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4045 | Location PNT - 122

Kerri Lowey Mackenzie

Kerri Lowey Mackenzie

kerri.lowey@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4229 | Location PNT - 124

Karen Mason

Karen Mason

Department Chair, Faculty

Nursing

Registered Nurse, Vancouver General Hospital School of Nursing

Bachelor of Science in Nursing, University of Victoria

Master of Nursing in Nursing, University of VIctoria 

Subjects: Nursing
Karen.Mason@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5067 | Location PNT - 210

Tara Mayrhofer

Tara Mayrhofer

Tara.Mayrhofer@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4044 | Location PNT - 122
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Liz McKay

Liz McKay

Liz.McKay@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4120 | Location PNT - 122

Barb McPherson

Barb McPherson

Department Chair, Faculty

Practical Nursing Program

B.Sc., Nursing

Subjects: Practical Nursing Diploma
barbara.mcpherson@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9766 | Location CWG - 239

Jan Meiers

Jan Meiers

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University)
Registered Nurse

Subjects: Nursing
jan.meiers@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5068 | Location PNT - 217

Laurie Michaud

Laurie Michaud

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing Degree with a teaching focus (Athabasca University)

Subjects: Nursing
laurie.michaud@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4290 | Location VLG - ANX 1
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Lynne Oberik

Lynne Oberik

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University, 2009)

Subjects: Nursing
lynne.oberik@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5061 | Location PNT - 122

Marie-France Paquet-Combe

Marie-France Paquet-Combe

Marie-France@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4212 | Location VLG - K1

Coryna Purves

Coryna Purves




Leighann Ruel

Leighann Ruel

leighann.ruel@nic.bc.ca
Mt. Waddington Regional Campus 250-949-7912 ext. 2855

Martha Russell

Martha Russell

Coordinator, Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, Nurse Educator option, (University of Victoria, 2012)
Registered Nurse

 

Subjects: Nursing
martha.russell@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4041 | Location PNT - 217

Susan Shantz

Susan Shantz

Department Chair, Faculty

Human Services

Susan holds a Masters of Social Work from the University of BC.  Her undergraduate in the Bachelor of Social Work comes from the University of Calgary.

Subjects: Human Service Worker, Social Services
susan.shantz@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5084 | Location PNT - 124

Denise Sibilleau

Denise Sibilleau

Denise.Sibilleau@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9711

Leslie Stuart

Leslie Stuart

Coordinator

Practical Nursing Program

Registered Nurse(RN)

Subjects: Practical Nursing Diploma
Leslie.Stuart@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9767 | Location CWG - 225
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8767

Laurie Tulloch

Laurie Tulloch

Department Chair, Faculty

Early Childhood Care

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
Laurie.Tulloch@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4218 | Location PNT - 105

Evelyn Voyageur

Evelyn Voyageur

PhD, Psychology (Stratford University, 2002)

 

evelyn.voyageur@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4054 | Location PNT - 209

Donna Wedman

Donna Wedman

Faculty

Health Care Assistant

BN (University of Calgary 1992)

Subjects: Health Care Assistant, Human Service Worker
donna.wedman@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4213 | Location VLG - K1
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9742

Georgette Whitehead

Georgette Whitehead

Faculty

Human Services

Master of Social Work, Dalhousie University

Subjects: Human Service Worker, Social Services
Georgette.Whitehead@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4016 | Location PNT - 129

Sally Wisden

Sally Wisden

sally.wisden@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5053 | Location PNT - 129