Health & Human Services

Get to know NIC’s Health & Human Services faculty

Our highly qualified faculty are accessible and approachable. They will support meaningful learning experiences, research and networking opportunities to inspire your career.

To meet faculty from other areas, visit NIC’s faculty directory.

Paula Avender

Paula Avender

Paula.Avender@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location PNT
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700 ext. 5086

Cathy Batho

Cathy Batho

Faculty

Early Childhood Care

BA in Child and Youth Care (Vancouver Island University 2004)

Masters in Early Childhood Education (University of British Columbia 2015)

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
cathy.batho@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5063
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Laurie Bird

Laurie Bird

laurie.bird@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8732 | Location SOU - 102

Pamela Burton

Pamela Burton

Faculty, Researcher

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University, 2007)
Registered Nurse

 

Subjects: Nursing
pam.burton@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5072 | Location PNT - 210

Katrina Connell

Katrina Connell

Katrina.Connell@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8722
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000

Heidi Deagle

Heidi Deagle

Heidi.Deagle@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4038 | Location PNT - 122

Joanna Fraser

Joanna Fraser

Faculty

Nursing

RN BScN MCE EdD(c)

Subjects: Nursing
joanna.fraser@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4034 | Location PNT - 210

Theresa Gereluk

Theresa Gereluk

Department Chair, Faculty

Early Childhood Care

Masters in Learning and Technology (Royal Roads University)

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
theresa.gereluk@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8766

Rachel Goodliffe

Rachel Goodliffe

Faculty

Nursing

MN - Athabasa University - Alberta - Canada

Subjects: Nursing
rachel.goodliffe@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4246 | Location PNT - 210
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

RaeAnn Hartman

RaeAnn Hartman

Department Chair, Faculty

Nursing

Bachelor of Science, Nursing (UBC)
Registered Nurse

Subjects: Nursing
raeann.hartman@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5066 | Location PNT - 211
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Kelly Johnsen

Kelly Johnsen

Department Chair, Faculty

Aboriginal Education, Human Services

Masters of Education, Educational Psychology and Leadership Studeis

Subjects: First Nations, Human Service Worker
kelly.johnsen@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8743

Shelagh Kantor

Shelagh Kantor

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University, 2009)
Registered Nurse

 

Subjects: Nursing
shelagh.kantor@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4045 | Location PNT - 122

Kerri Lowey Mackenzie

Kerri Lowey Mackenzie

kerri.lowey@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4229 | Location PNT - 129

Karen Mason

Karen Mason

Department Chair, Faculty

Nursing

Registered Nurse, Vancouver General Hospital School of Nursing

Bachelor of Science in Nursing, University of Victoria

Master of Nursing in Nursing, University of VIctoria 

Subjects: Nursing
Karen.Mason@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5067 | Location PNT - P212

Tara Mayrhofer

Tara Mayrhofer

Tara.Mayrhofer@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4044 | Location PNT - 210
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Liz McKay

Liz McKay

Liz.McKay@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4120 | Location PNT - 209

Barb McPherson

Barb McPherson

barbara.mcpherson@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9766 | Location CWG - 225

Jan Meiers

Jan Meiers

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University)
Registered Nurse

Subjects: Nursing
jan.meiers@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5068 | Location PNT - 217

Laurie Michaud

Laurie Michaud

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing Degree with a teaching focus (Athabasca University)

Subjects: Nursing
laurie.michaud@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4043 | Location PNT - 122
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9742

Lynne Oberik

Lynne Oberik

Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, (Athabasca University, 2009)

Subjects: Nursing
lynne.oberik@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5061 | Location PNT - 122

Marie-France Paquet-Combe

Marie-France Paquet-Combe

Marie-France@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4212 | Location VLG - F7

Coryna Purves

Coryna Purves

Coryna.Purves@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9765 | Location CWG - C225

Leighann Ruel

Leighann Ruel

leighann.ruel@nic.bc.ca
Mt. Waddington Regional Campus 250-949-7912 ext. 2855

Martha Russell

Martha Russell

Coordinator, Faculty

Nursing

Master of Nursing, Nurse Educator option, (University of Victoria, 2012)
Registered Nurse

 

Subjects: Nursing
martha.russell@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4041 | Location PNT - 213

Susan Shantz

Susan Shantz

Department Chair, Faculty

Human Services

Susan holds a Masters of Social Work from the University of BC.  Her undergraduate in the Bachelor of Social Work comes from the University of Calgary.

Subjects: Human Service Worker, Social Services
susan.shantz@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5084 | Location PNT - 205

Cara Tilston

Cara Tilston

cara.tilston@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4232 | Location PNT - 122

Laurie Tulloch

Laurie Tulloch

Department Chair, Faculty

Early Childhood Care

Subjects: Early Childhood Education
Laurie.Tulloch@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4218 | Location PNT - 205
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Mt. Waddington Regional Campus 250-949-7912

Evelyn Voyageur

Evelyn Voyageur

PhD, Psychology (Stratford University, 2002)

 

evelyn.voyageur@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4054 | Location PNT - 209

Donna Wedman

Donna Wedman

Faculty

Health Care Assistant

BN (University of Calgary 1992)

Subjects: Health Care Assistant, Human Service Worker
donna.wedman@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4213

Sally Wisden

Sally Wisden

sally.wisden@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5053 | Location PNT - 129