University Transfer

Get to know NIC’s university studies faculty

Learn from the experts. NIC’s approachable faculty support meaningful learning experiences, research and networking opportunities to inspire your career.

To meet faculty from other areas, visit NIC’s faculty directory.

Jim Anderson

Jim Anderson

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Roman Frontiers (University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 1992)

Subjects: Anthropology, History, Liberal Studies
Jim.Anderson@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4227 | Location DIS - 223
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Cory Batch

Cory Batch

Faculty

Electronics Tech

Subjects: Electronics, Mathematics
cory.batch@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9733 | Location DWG - 217

Geri Bemister

Geri Bemister

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

Subjects: Criminology
Geri.Bemister@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4026
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711 ext. 8759 | Location CEN - 206

Ryan Blaak

Ryan Blaak

Ryan.Blaak@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4061 | Location TYE - 219

Aisling Brady

Aisling Brady

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

PhD, Marine Biology (University of Calgary, 2012)

Subjects: Biology
aisling.brady@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5047 | Location RAV - 203

Jeannie Cameron

Jeannie Cameron

Faculty

Adult Basic Education, Mathematics-Science

MSc, Mathematics (Dalhousie University,1993)

Subjects: Mathematics
jeannie.cameron@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4083 | Location TTB - 122

Alix Carrel

Alix Carrel

Department Chair, Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Comparative Literature and Languages (University of Paris, 2004)

Subjects: French, Spanish
alix.carrel@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4158 | Location TYE - 218

Michael Catchpole

Michael Catchpole

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Psychology (UBC, 1977)

Subjects: Psychology
michael.catchpole@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8713 | Location CEN - 207

Yiling Chow

Yiling Chow

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA, Educational Psychology (University of British Columbia, 1987)

Subjects: Psychology
yiling.chow@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4115 | Location TTB - 112
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8706
Port Alberni Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159

Anne Cumming

Anne Cumming

anne.cumming@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4153 | Location TYE - 220

Sue de Bruin

Sue de Bruin

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA, Research Psychology, with distinction (University of Pretoria, 2007)

Subjects: Psychology

Jason Diemer

Jason Diemer

jason.diemer@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9768 | Location CWG - 230
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5041

Jennifer Fallis Starhunter

Jennifer Fallis Starhunter

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

PhD in Physics (University of Manitoba, 2009)

Subjects: Physics
Jennifer.FallisStarhunter@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4092 | Location RAV - 207
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Department Chair, Faculty

Applied Business Technology, Humanities & Social Sciences

Master of Arts, Integrated Studies (Athabasca University)

Subjects: Applied Business Technology, History, Women's Studies
richelle.gardiner-hynds@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159 | Location TYE - 214
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9707

Darren George

Darren George

darren.george@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9762 | Location CWG - 236

Gary Green

Gary Green

Gary.Green@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location VLG - F03
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Georgie Harrison

Georgie Harrison

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

MSc, Biology

Subjects: Biology
georgie.harrison@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4215

Brad Harsell

Brad Harsell

Subjects: Electronics
brad.harsell@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9732 | Location DWG - 217

Kathleen Heywood

Kathleen Heywood

kathleen.heywood@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8719
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, History (University of North Carolina, 1993)

Subjects: History, Liberal Studies
Dan.Hinman-Smith@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4024 | Location VLG - G06

Judy Johnson

Judy Johnson

judy.johnson@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4072 | Location VLG - F1

Michele Jones

Michele Jones

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

MSc, Botany (University of British Columbia)

 

Subjects: Biology
michele.jones@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5043 | Location RAV - 203
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Mt. Waddington Regional Campus 250-949-7912
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Jeffrey Lawrence

Jeffrey Lawrence

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Philosophy (McMaster University, 1999)

Subjects: Philosophy
jeff.lawrence@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4030

Judy LeBlanc

Judy LeBlanc

Judy.LeBlanc@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000

Dennis Lightfoot

Dennis Lightfoot

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

MSc in Agricultural Engineering (McGill University, 1992)

Subjects: Engineering, Mathematics, Physics
dennis.lightfoot@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5044

Frank Lu

Frank Lu

Faculty

Business Administration, Computer Science Technology, Fine Arts, Mathematics-Science

MSc (Business Admin) in Management Info Systems (UBC, 1992)

Subjects: Business, Info Tech & Comp Science, Interactive Media, Mathematics
frank.lu@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5046 | Location TYE - 121

Erin McConomy

Erin McConomy

Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (McGill University, 1997)

Subjects: English
erin.mcconomy@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5082 | Location DIS - DisLib
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9760

Sandra Milligan

Sandra Milligan

Faculty

Mathematics-Science

MSc in Anatomy and Neurobiology (University of Ottawa, 1998)

 

Subjects: Biology
Sandra.Milligan@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9759 | Location CWG - 233

Bill Morrison

Bill Morrison

Faculty

Adult Basic Education, Mathematics-Science

MSc in Biology (Carleton University, 1986)

william.morrison@nic.bc.ca
Ucluelet Centre 250-726-2697 | Location BCC
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711 ext. 8788

Mac Newton

Mac Newton

mac.newton@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4152 | Location TYE - 219

Frank Niscak

Frank Niscak

frank.niscak@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5045 | Location TYE - 121

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Department Chair, Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (University of Sussex)

Subjects: English
shereelee.powsey@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4155 | Location TYE - 222

Steve Schoenhoff

Steve Schoenhoff

stephen.schoenhoff@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5094 | Location DIS - 211

Antonie Scholtz

Antonie Scholtz

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology and Equity Studies (University of Toronto, 2013)

Subjects: Political Science, Sociology
Antonie.Scholtz@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location VLG - F3
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8700

Linda Sheehan

Linda Sheehan

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Geography (University of Victoria)

Subjects: Geography
linda.sheehan@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4031
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700


Helen Tian

Helen Tian

Helen.Tian@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4119 | Location VLG - A

Nick Van Orden

Nick Van Orden

Nicholas.VanOrden@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4189 | Location DIS - 213
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Sherrie Wang

Sherrie Wang

sherrie.wang@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 5052 | Location RAV - 206
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Michael Willers

Michael Willers

michael.willers@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8729 | Location TEB - C135
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000

Jen Wrye

Jen Wrye

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology (Carleton University)

Subjects: Sociology
Jen.Wrye@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5030
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700