Humanities & Social Sciences Programs & Courses

Learn how to think, not what to think. With humanities and social sciences courses at NIC you'll develop skills sought after by employers as you learn how to assess and adapt to change, analyze trends and solve complex problems.

Programs

Explore humanities and social science courses through one of the following programs. Want to discuss your options? Book an appointment with an NIC educational advisor.

University Transfer Agreements

Transfer seamlessly to university with our exclusive partnership agreements.

Explore Humanities

Investigate the human condition while learning how to think critically and speculatively.

By studying humanities, you will:

  • Investigate the human condition
  • Learn how to think critically and speculatively
  • Develop skills sought after by employers including research skills and critical thinking

Chinese

French

History

Liberal Studies

Philosophy

Spanish

Social Sciences

Learn how to ask big questions and deepen your understanding of the world in which we live.

In social sciences, you will:

  • Learn to collect data to better understand society and human behaviour
  • Learn to assess and adapt to change, analyze trends and solve complex problems
  • Develop skills sought after by employers including research skills and critical thinking

Anthropology

Criminology

Geography

Political Science

Psychology

Sociology

Women’s Studies

University Transfer News

Read the latest stories from NIC’s University Transfer students and faculty.

Meet the faculty

Jim Anderson

Jim Anderson

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Roman Frontiers (University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 1992)

Subjects: Anthropology, History, Liberal Studies
Jim.Anderson@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4227 | Location DIS - 223
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Geri Bemister

Geri Bemister

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

Subjects: Criminology
Geri.Bemister@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4026
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711 ext. 8759 | Location CEN - 206

Ryan Blaak

Ryan Blaak
Ryan.Blaak@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4061 | Location TYE - 219

Jennifer Botica

Jennifer Botica
Jennifer.Botica@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location VLG - VLG G6
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Alix Carrel

Alix Carrel

Department Chair, Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Comparative Literature and Languages (University of Paris, 2004)

Subjects: French, Spanish
alix.carrel@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4158 | Location TYE - 218

Yiling Chow

Yiling Chow

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA, Educational Psychology (University of British Columbia, 1987)

Subjects: Psychology
yiling.chow@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location TTB - 112
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8706 ext. 8713
Port Alberni Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159

Anne Cumming

Anne Cumming
anne.cumming@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4153 | Location TYE - 220

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Department Chair, Faculty

Applied Business Technology, Humanities & Social Sciences

Master of Arts, Integrated Studies (Athabasca University)

Subjects: History, Women's Studies
richelle.gardiner-hynds@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159 | Location TYE - 214
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9707

Gary Green

Gary Green
Gary.Green@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location VLG - F03

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, History (University of North Carolina, 1993)

Subjects: History, Liberal Studies
Dan.Hinman-Smith@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4024 | Location VLG - G06

Judy Johnson

Judy Johnson
judy.johnson@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4072 | Location VLG - F1

Jeffrey Lawrence

Jeffrey Lawrence

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Philosophy (McMaster University, 1999)

Subjects: Philosophy
jeff.lawrence@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4030


Erin McConomy

Erin McConomy

Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (McGill University, 1997)

Subjects: English
erin.mcconomy@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5082 | Location DIS - DisLib
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9760

Mac Newton

Mac Newton
mac.newton@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4152 | Location TYE - 219

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Department Chair, Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (University of Sussex)

Subjects: English
shereelee.powsey@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4155 | Location TYE - 222

Steve Schoenhoff

Steve Schoenhoff
stephen.schoenhoff@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5094 | Location DIS - 211
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Antonie Scholtz

Antonie Scholtz

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology and Equity Studies (University of Toronto, 2013)

Subjects: Political Science, Sociology
Antonie.Scholtz@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4081 | Location VLG - F3
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8700

Linda Sheehan

Linda Sheehan

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Geography (University of Victoria)

Subjects: Geography
linda.sheehan@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4031
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700


Nick Van Orden

Nick Van Orden
Nicholas.VanOrden@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4189 | Location DIS - 213
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Jen Wrye

Jen Wrye

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology (Carleton University)

Subjects: Sociology
Jen.Wrye@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5030
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700