Skip to content

Education Council

Established by the College and Institute Act, Education Council’s role is to ensure educational quality at North Island College. Education Council has two main functions in this regard:

  1. To review and approve curriculum and policies that relate to academic standing, academic standards and evaluation of student performance; and
  2. To advise the Board of Governors on the development of educational policy (e.g. related to the implementation and/or cancellation of courses and programs, evaluation of programs and educational services, terms of affiliation with other post-secondary bodies, qualifications for admission policies, and criteria for awarding certificates, diplomas and degrees).

Education Council Members

  • Dennis Lightfoot Chair
    Faculty, Mathematics & Science
  • Tony Bellavia
    Assistant Vice President, Access & Regions
  • Marie Ducharme
    Faculty, Coordinator, Assessment Services
  • Brad Harsell Vice Chair
    Faculty, Trades & Technology
  • Bert Holden
    Student Representative
  • Judith Marriott
    Faculty, Business
  • Shirley Mutoni
    Student Representative
  • Gillian Northwood
    Support Staff, Evaluations/Student Records Assistant
  • Danita Schmidt
    Faculty, Adult Basic Education
  • Heather Thompson
    Support Staff, Registration Assistant
  • Kara Foreman
    Recording Secretary
  • Terri Bateman
    Faculty, Distributed Learning Facilitator
  • Alix Carrel
    Faculty, Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Kathleen Haggith
    Dean, Health & Human Services
  • Kathleen Heywood
    Faculty, Mathematics & Science
  • Kathleen Kuhnert
    Director, Student Services & Registrar
  • Jan Meiers
    Faculty, Nursing
  • Lou-ann Neel
    Director, Aboriginal Education
  • Amy Rowes
    Faculty, Arts & Science/Business & Applied Studies
  • Nic Schofield
    Student Representative
  • John Bowman Ex-Officio
    President, NIC

Election Rules and Regulations