Skip to content

The Board of Governors

Fr. left, Greg Phelps, Cathy Reyno, Jerry Mundi, Eric Mosley, Justin Whitehead, John Bowman, Rob Everson, Roy Grant, Bruce Bell, Kim Gibson, Jane Murphy, Dennis Lightfoot, Derek Lamb

The Board is empowered by the College and Institute Act of British Columbia to manage, administer, and direct the affairs of the institution in the areas of property, revenue, expenditure, business, and other matters within the context of the process and duties accorded it.

The Board’s primary responsibility is to oversee the strategic direction and management of the College and ensure it carries out its mission. To that end, the primary functions and roles of the Board are to establish the institution’s purpose and direction; to ensure the institution is effectively and efficiently managed; to establish policies that have institution-wide application, and to provide effective communication with the community.

The Board of Governors is comprised of eight government appointed members, one elected faculty member, one elected staff member and two elected student members. The Chair of the Education Council and the President are ex-officio Board Members. The board members elect the Chair of the board annually.

North Island College ’s Board performs its work through eight Board meetings and the following committees:

  • Executive Committee
  • Finance and Audit Committee
  • President’s Performance and Compensation Committee
  • Governance and Human Resources Committee


Board of Governors
North Island College
2300 Ryan Road
Courtenay, BC V9N 8N6

Tel: 250-334-5275
Fax: 250334-5269