Trades & Technical Faculty

Get to know NIC’s trades faculty

Learn from the experts. NIC’s approachable faculty support meaningful learning experiences, research and networking opportunities to inspire your career.

To meet faculty from other areas, visit NIC’s faculty directory.

Xavier Bauby

Xavier Bauby

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Red Seal Certificate in Culinary Arts (1996)

Subjects: Professional Cook
Xavier.Bauby@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700 ext. 7832

Nick Charette

Nick Charette

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

RSE Journeyman Plumber (Camosun College 2004)

B Level Gasfitter (Camosun College 2004) 

BCWWA Backflow Certification Instructor/ installer  (BCWWA 2003)  

Subjects: Plumbing Apprenticeship, Plumbing Appr Harmonized, Plumbing & Piping Fndtn Hrmnzd
Nick.Charette@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4051
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Robin Greig

Robin Greig

Journeyman Red Seal Electrician and Electronics Technician, Alberta

Robin.Greig@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Erik Hardin

Erik Hardin

Faculty

Continuing Ed & Training, Trades & Apprenticeships

Journeyman Carpenter, Red Seal Endorsed 

Subjects: Carpentry Fnd Harmonized, Carpentry Apprenticeship, Carpentry Apprentice Hrmnzd
erik.hardin@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4049 | Location TTB - 113
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Robert Hughes

Robert Hughes

Alan Irving

Alan Irving

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Graduated Camosun College, Culinary Arts, Cook Traing Program

Subjects: Professional Cook
Alan.Irving@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8740

David Johns

David Johns

Faculty

Electrical,Piping,Wood Trades

Journeyman Electrician, Alberta

Provincial Instructor Diploma, Adult Education, Vancouver Community College 2010

Subjects: Electrician Fnd Harmonized, Electricity Apprenticeship, Electrician Appren Harmonized
David.Johns@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700 ext. 7819 | Location DWG - 214A

Rob Laird

Rob Laird

Faculty

Continuing Ed & Training, Trades & Apprenticeships

Journeyman Carpenter (Red Seal 1994)

B. Ed University of British Columbia (2004)

M Ed. Curriculum Development University of Victoria (2015)

Subjects: Carpentry Fnd Harmonized, Carpentry Apprenticeship, Carpentry Apprentice Hrmnzd
Robert.Laird@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4050 | Location TTB - 113

Coleen MacLean

Coleen MacLean

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Master's in Environment and Management (Royal Roads University, 2018)

Subjects: Coastal Forest Worker
Coleen.MacLean@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9723 | Location AWG - 224

Stephen McIntosh

Stephen McIntosh

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Cabinetmaker - Interprovincial Red Seal

Carpenter - Interprovincial Red Seal

Subjects: Joinery/Cabinetmaking
stephen.mcintosh@nic.bc.ca
Tebo Vocational Centre 250-724-8771

Matt Melgaard

Matt Melgaard

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Red Seal Endorsed (RSE) Carpentry

Subjects: Carpentry Fnd Harmonized, Carpentry Qualification Cert.
Matt.Melgaard@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4263 | Location TTB - 113

David Nilson

David Nilson
David.Nilson@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9793

Karl Plautz

Karl Plautz

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

RSE Metal Fabricator

RSE Welder

Subjects: Metal Fabricator Appr Hrmzd, Metal Fab FndHmzd, Welder Apprentice Harmonized, Welder Foundation Harmonized
Karl.Plautz@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Jesse Ronquillo

Jesse Ronquillo

Faculty

Trades & Apprenticeships

Ph.D. Fisheries/Aquaculture, Kagoshima University, Japan.

M.Sc. Fisheries/Aquaculture, Kagoshima University, Japan.

B.Sc. Fisheries (cum laude), University of the Philippines, Philippines.

 

Subjects: Aquaculture Technician
Jesse.Ronquillo@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9736 | Location EWG - 215A

Jason Taylor

Jason Taylor

Faculty

Electrical,Piping,Wood Trades, Trades & Apprenticeships

Masters of Arts in Learning and Technology (Royal Roads University, 2014)

Subjects: Electrician Fnd Harmonized, Electricity Apprenticeship, Electrician Appren Harmonized
Jason.Taylor@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9729 | Location DWG - A214

Terry Waters

Terry Waters
terry.waters@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9734 | Location EWG - 222