Academic Quality Enhancement Working Group

The Academic Quality Enhancement Working Group (AQEWG) provides feedback, direction, advice, and assistance on the updating of existing academic policies, processes, and actions related to ensuring ongoing quality academic programming.

The group is engaged in the development of the materials, engagement in discussions and planning of next steps related to the Ministry of Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills’ Quality Assurance Process Audit (QAPA) and the related outcomes of that audit to advance NIC’s commitment to quality student learning.

The group began in January 2023 and will continue into 2024.


Senior Administration

  • Vice-President, Academic: Tony Bellavia

Decanal/Academic Areas

  • Arts, Science and Management: Neil Cruickshank, Dean
  • Health and Human Services: Kathleen Haggith, Dean
  • Trades and Technical Programs: Cheryl O’Connell, Dean
  • Indigenous Education: Kelly Shopland, Executive Director

Student Services

  • Director, Student Affairs: Craig Whitton

Office of Registrar

  • Registrar: Michelle Badger

Institutional Research and Planning

  • Director: Wes Skulmoski

Education Council Chairs

  • Education Council: Wilma Gus
  • Curriculum Committee: Jennifer Fallis Starhunter
  • Planning and Standards: Judith Marriott

Department Chairs Working Group

  • Alex Blair, Laurie Tulloch

Student Representative

  • NISU Executive Director: Carissa Wilson

Centre for Teaching and Learning Innovation

  • Director: Liesel Knaack (Chair)
  • Centre Operations and Project Analyst: Emma Courtney (Support)