Humanities & Social Sciences Faculty

Geri Bemister

Geri Bemister

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

Subjects: Criminology
Geri.Bemister@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4026
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711 ext. 8759 | Location CEN - 206

Bradley Best

Bradley Best
Brad.Best@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000

Ryan Blaak

Ryan Blaak

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

Master of Arts in History (University of British Columbia, 2003)

Subjects: History
Ryan.Blaak@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4061 | Location TYE - 219

Jennifer Botica

Jennifer Botica

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Archaeology (Simon Fraser University, 2017)

MA in Near Eastern Archaeology (Universiteit Leiden, 2005)

Subjects: Anthropology, History, Liberal Studies
Jennifer.Botica@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 5034 | Location VLG - VLG G6
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Alison Bruderer

Alison Bruderer

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Psychology (University of British Columbia, 2014)

Subjects: Psychology
Alison.Bruderer@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location CWG - 237

Alix Carrel

Alix Carrel

Department Chair, Faculty

English, Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, Comparative Literature and Languages (University of Paris, 2004)

Subjects: French, Spanish
alix.carrel@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4158 | Location TYE - 218

Yiling Chow

Yiling Chow

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA, Educational Psychology (University of British Columbia, 1987)

Subjects: Psychology
yiling.chow@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 | Location TTB - 112
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8706 ext. 8713
Port Alberni Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159

Sue de Bruin

Sue de Bruin

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA, Research Psychology, with distinction (University of Pretoria, 2007)

Subjects: Psychology
sue.debruin@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4157 | Location TYE - 221
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Richelle Gardiner-Hynds

Department Chair, Faculty

Applied Business Technology, Humanities & Social Sciences

Master of Arts, Integrated Studies (Athabasca University)

Subjects: History, Women's Studies
richelle.gardiner-hynds@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4159 | Location TYE - 214
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9707

Caitlin Hartnett

Caitlin Hartnett

Faculty

English

MA, English LIterature (Concordia 2008)

Doctor of Education (EdD) Candidate, Culturally-Inclusive Place-Based Education (SFU)

Subjects: English
caitlin.hartnett@nic.bc.ca
Mixalakwila Campus 250-949-7912 ext. 2872

Sean Hickey

Sean Hickey
Sean.Hickey@nic.bc.ca
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8759 | Location CWG - 206

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Daniel Hinman-Smith

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD, History (University of North Carolina, 1993)

Subjects: History, Liberal Studies
Dan.Hinman-Smith@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4024 | Location VLG - G06

Laura Johnston

Laura Johnston

Faculty

Aboriginal Education, English

Aboriginal Leadership Certificate (UBC 2016)

Masters of Arts in English Literature (UBC 2010)

PID (VCC 2004)

Bachelors of Arts in English Literature (Malaspina U-C 2003)

Subjects: Aboriginal Leadership, English
Laura.Johnston@nic.bc.ca
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700 ext. 4021
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4069 | Location VLG - N1

Jeffrey Lawrence

Jeffrey Lawrence

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Philosophy (McMaster University, 1999)

Subjects: Philosophy
jeff.lawrence@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4030

Erin McConomy

Erin McConomy

Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (McGill University, 1997)

Subjects: English
erin.mcconomy@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5082 | Location DIS - DisLib
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9760

Catherine Moula

Catherine Moula

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

Bachelor of Literature (Reims University, France, 1998)

Master of French as a Foreign Language (Montpellier University, France, 2003)

Subjects: French
Catherine.Moula@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4108 | Location TYE - 218

Mac Newton

Mac Newton

Faculty

English

Master of Arts in Creative Writing and New Media (DeMontfort University, Leicester, UK, 2007)

Master of Education (Niagara University, NY, 1990)

Bachelor of Arts, English (Acadia University, 1987)

Subjects: English
mac.newton@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4152 | Location TYE - 219

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Sheree-Lee Powsey

Faculty

English

MA, English Literature (University of Sussex)

Subjects: English
shereelee.powsey@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4155 | Location TYE - 222

Steve Schoenhoff

Steve Schoenhoff
stephen.schoenhoff@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5094 | Location DIS - 211
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Antonie Scholtz

Antonie Scholtz

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology and Equity Studies (University of Toronto, 2013)

Subjects: Political Science, Sociology
Antonie.Scholtz@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4081 | Location VLG - F3
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8700

Jordan Scott

Jordan Scott
Jordan.Scott@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4169
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Linda Sheehan

Linda Sheehan

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

MA in Geography (University of Victoria)

Subjects: Geography
linda.sheehan@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4031
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700

Nick van Orden

Nick van Orden

Faculty

English

Master of Arts in English/Cultural, Social, and Political Thought (University of Victoria, 2010)

Subjects: English
Nicholas.VanOrden@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5000 ext. 4189 | Location DIS - 213
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700
Port Alberni Campus 250-724-8711

Jen Wrye

Jen Wrye

Faculty

Humanities & Social Sciences

PhD in Sociology (Carleton University)

Subjects: Sociology
Jen.Wrye@nic.bc.ca
Comox Valley Campus 250-334-5030
Campbell River Campus 250-923-9700